dread1myn is fabulous

i love this womyn, her last comment is a entry in itself:

Pride is something that I’ve been working on all my life. It’s like a friend whom I’d like to get to know better. It’s hard to be proud of being Black when nine-tenths of what you hear and see depicted about your people is negative. It’s hard to be proud to be disabled when you’re routinely treated like trash, made to feel as if you must apologize for your very existence, and must fight for the most basic things and rights. It’s hard to be proud to be queer when you can’t even hold your partner’s hand in public without worrying about getting beat up. Pride comes even harder when the groups and people that you count yourself a part of, won’t accept you because you also belong to a group or people that they look down on, or who are not of the dominant culture. Still, I search for Pride, and sometimes, manage to find her in the wierdest places. She pops up often when I least expect her. I still want to know her better. It’s hard to admit that pride doesn’t come easy to me, especially since I’m a somewhat radical disability rights activist. Maybe it’s that there is more pride in me than I realize. Maybe it’s pride and love that has kept me in the disability rights movement for 21 years, with 114 arrests with ADAPT during that time. Maybe it’s pride, love, amd hope that makes me work hard to be the first Black in management at work. Maybe it’s pride after all, that has me smile at my partner and hold her hand in public.

7 Comments

Filed under identity

7 responses to “dread1myn is fabulous

  1. I love her too. She is my sister. 🙂

  2. Wow, Sister, you honor me! YOU are the one who is fabulous! Funny, I was hesitant at first, to offer that comment because I didn’t want people tn get the idea that I was feeling sorry for myself. You know how it is, especially when you are an activist–you aren’t allowed to step out of “super-pride” mode for a minute to express the fact that though “the struggle is my life”, the struggle can sometimes be hard, painful, draining, frustrating, etc. — cont.

  3. People then tell you to “get off the pity pot”, when you weren’t even there to begin with! The same goes for being proud of your race, culture, etc. Sometimes you’re damned if you do, and damned if you don’t– the dominant culture puts out negative stereotypes and images of your group, and says, “why can’t you be better”, but when you try to change your group’s image to a more positive one, especially if you aren’t going about it in the manner that they want, then, you’re a militant or a radical. — cont.

  4. Anyway, I just wanted to thank you for all of your great stuff! It always speaks to me, and if I don’t always comment, it’s only because you’ve said it better than I could.

  5. A million hugs to you, Jimmi! I hope to see you soon!

  6. Liz

    People like this inspire everyone they meet don’t they?

  7. i do think so, liz, especially in that i-want-to-chain-myself-to-a-bus way. : )definitely a lot to learn from ADAPTers, as well as the rest of the community.

Leave a Reply

