you call this revolution?

Of course I’m silent when you start talkin’ Revolution
To you, my “Enlightened” Angelina-Jolie-Bono-loving
People Magazine-reading friend,
Revolution is nothing more than a trendy word to sport.
Something that’s been in style since the 80s Live AID concert
But tell me, do you really know who Che is? Or do you carry his image on your chest because his face is good looking?
Do you really support militant activism or only when it comes in ancient Buddhist mystery with monks and shit?
Do you realize what a lot of what you’ve been told about the world is a lie?
You see, I don’t really feel a need to wear 5 different wristbands for 5 different “causes,”
Particularly when the goal is to eradicate disabled people from the face of the earth with talks of cures and research
You see, I don’t feel a need to pay more money for this [Red] line they sell at the GAP…afterall, does consumerism and capitalism really go hand in hand with the principles of radicalism?
These are just some things I think while listening to a friend talk about how we, as “persons with disabilities” [not people,] are going to change the world.

7 Comments

Filed under activism, writing/poetry

7 responses to “you call this revolution?

  1. Pingback: Women of Color Blog » You Call This Revolution?

  2. cool!

    just came to your blog via the woc blog there, and it’s great!

  3. Liz

    I totally get your argument but on the other hand….In these “Bushie” days I’m comforted by seeing the occasional [red] or Che tee shirt. At least that person has SOME level of conscientiousness even if they are still buying into capitalism. It’s a better feeling then when I see those dopey yellow ribbon magnets on cars. UGH!

  4. Right on Sister…keep speaking that truth to Power!!!

  5. Ms.CC –

    I love this. This is powerful. This is straight.

    These days, that’s all I have room for in my part of the blogosphere.

    Thank you for this.

  6. Anton La Vey would call these things “good guy badges.” HS

  7. Ryan

    This is great. Thanks you for making a comment about those ridiculous Lance Armstrong bracelets. I knew there was a reason why I hate those things. I too get enraged by people who are activist-like for the status. And thank you for commenting on Bono too. Its like you’re a jerk if you disagree with a famous person who is doing a “good cause”. People don’t even evaluate who’s good cause it is.

Leave a Reply

