in bed (and not in a good way)

my nose is running. throat is burning. hearing and ability to voice is temporarily out the window. my sister who looks up to my brother in an unbelievable way, now knows what he did and why everyone has been crying all week—and had to hear about it for the first time from gossip at school. (i love how my mother was crying for a straight hour and then told my sister is was because she got a C on her progress report card.) and to top it all of, my crip trip to the beach this weekend is a disaster due to miscommunications and hordes and hordes of harley davidson bikers. (why can’t you share myrtle beach, PEOPLE!!?)

but on the flipside, philosophercrip and i decided to get tattoos together this year, hopefully at our first disability pride parade or ADAPT action. (speaking of which, does anyone have the dates for ADAPT??? i’ve heard three different things from three different people?). i’m not sure what i want to get, but hopefully something disability activist-ish. any ideas?

4 Comments

Filed under life, travel

4 responses to “in bed (and not in a good way)

  1. Liz

    Don’t feel bad, I went on a day trip around my way a few weeks ago and bikers ruined that as well. Those engines are awful and should be outlawed. The place I went to tickets them for loud engines but there are so many. Also, why do bikers always fit the stereotype? UGH!

    My brothers are one and two years younger then me. When we were in school together no one even knew we were related as they were ALWAYS in trouble and I was NEVER in trouble. As time marched on, I learned that being detached (with love) from them was for a good reason. Now we are in our 40’s and they are exactly like my father (not a good thing) so I’m cordial to them, but live my own life. 🙂

  2. Liz

    Ps. Fell better soon! It’s going around. My allergies have been killing me this Fall season.

  3. My next tattoo is going to be the ADAPT logo. There are a few of us who have them.

  4. Liz

    Ive been thinking of ideas for your tattoo and I was thinking I really like Bjork’s tattoo. It’s like a wheel with meaningful symbols on each end- it’s cool, very tribal looking. I think you should go for something meaningful yet subtle. Something you have to explain or educate people on when they ask. I hope you are feeling better and having a good weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

