thank goodness God gives Republicans gay children

Saw this via The Curvature.

Republican Mayor Jerry Sanders explains why he suddenly decided to support gay marraige in San Diego. This clip made my eyes water. : ) It’s nice to have good news once in a while.  

“The concept of a separate-but-equal institution is not something I can support… In the end, I couldn’t look at their faces and tell them that their relationships, their very lives, were any less meaningful than the marriage I share with my wife.”

Thank you, Mayor Sanders. If you’d like to send him a thank you note, you can do so here.

5 Comments

Filed under queer, queer issues/culture

5 responses to “thank goodness God gives Republicans gay children

  1. This clip made that uncomfortable knot form in my throat. The ones that happens when you try not to cry. I imagine he must have felt much the same way up here. I really hand it to this man, because while he truly doesn’t deserve a pat on the back simply for doing WHAT IS RIGHT, he was brave enough to get up before all those people who believed in his politics, those who would be disappointed in this decision and say… love overrides politics, through tears and honesty and personal reflection. And that deserves a huge pat on the back.

  2. Wow! Sometimes love really does conquer all. I wish we could thank all of the wonderful GLBTQ people behind the scenes who quietly but effectively helped this man to see what needed to be done and have the courage to do it.

  3. Made your eyes water? I was over here bawling like a baby at feeding time. Thanks so much for pointing it out to me. I’ve emailed it to everyone i know.

    Someday, the world will see what it’s done to the GLBTQ community and I do the right thing, as the mayor of San Diego did today.

    Cilla
    AKA Big Noise

  4. Pingback: Change can be so touching and fulfilling « latin american princesa {LAP}

  5. I sent him a thank you note. It takes a brave man to do what he did.

Leave a Reply

