it’s always you…

when i sleep, it’s images of you
that linger through my mind.
when i cry, it’s your arms
i’m falling into.
when i feel broken, it is you
who lifts me up
not in prayer for hopes of walking
or as a form of chicken-soup-for-the-soul-book Inspiration
but with the strength of love,
the power of pride,
and a reminder to hold fast to who i am
and to who we are.
my community, my people, my friends…
as always, this is a love poem dedicated to you.

Leave a comment

Filed under community, disability, writing/poetry

Leave a Reply

