Must-read links

The Magitator writes about the “peril” of being inconvienced after being a part of the ADAPT protests in Chicago last week:“Oh my God! I flew in for a conference at this hotel! I didn’t know there was a strike! There is a conference here that I am attending! My agency made my reservation! My grandfather was a Progressive Union coal miner! My Dad was a shop steward! I would never cross a picket line! What should I do”?…She walked the picket line everyday on her lunch break. She brought others to walk the picket line. She complained to management. She had the conference sponsor protest.

Wheelchair Dancer posts about the overabundance of white faces in New Mobility magazine and the disability community: Many hundreds of years of race history doesn’t just go away because everyone is sitting in chairs…The conclusion is weak: “systemic acceptance” of difference is a nice idea, but it will not be enough. The DRM needs to be open to change. Some of the articulations of core principles will change. The safety and familiarity will change. Passive acceptance and charitable tolerance are not enough.

Mother Jones writes about the Rotenberg Center, a tax-funded program that treats kids like enemy combatants, and its use of shock treatment: The Rotenberg Center is the only facility in the country that disciplines students by shocking them, a form of punishment not inflicted on serial killers or child molesters or any of the 2.2 million inmates now incarcerated in U.S. jails and prisons.

Feminist Philosophers hosts the 45th Carnival of Feminists!

6 Comments

Filed under links

6 responses to “Must-read links

  1. I just found your blog, and I really like it. And you’re right, these are very good links. Can’t wait to read more from you.

  2. I hear it all the time, sometimes loudly to my face every protest. No one does indignation like wealthy white older men.

    I sometimes feel New Mobility says nothing to me or my friend’s lives because it seems like it is for the more upscale crip. I am lucky to afford public transit and let alone a fabulous get way to Europe in an accessible great a way spot.

    Not only that but Josie Byzek had written a reactionary piece after 9/11 comparing ADAPT to Al Queda, saying we were terrorists but “holding people hostage” in buildings and such.

  3. Hi! Thanks for the link and for commenting. Awesome blog!

    WCD

  4. Thank you for that link to the Mother Jones article. I felt sick to my stomach after reading what these PWD are experiencing. This is nothing but torture–state-sanctioned torture!

  5. Great set of links! Thanks so much for posting them!

  6. For the other side of the story an extensive response to the Mother Jones article can be found here: http://www.judgerc.org/ResponsetoGonnermanArticle.pdf

    Matthew L. Israel, Ph.D.
    Executive Director
    Judge Rotenberg Educational Center
    http://www.judgerc.org

Leave a Reply

