This is not good.

I’m obsessed with this movie. Instead of studying for the LSAT or unpacking all my shit (just moved back from DC two days ago), I’ve watched Big Eden four times in the last 48 hours. I really connect with the character Pike, who can’t tell Henry that he loves him (or even be in the same room as Henry for that matter) so instead cooks him all these gourmet meals and spends time with Henry’s grandfather. It’s set in a little town in Montana where the townspeople are open-minded (I’m guessing that’s why the town is called Big “Eden”) and all the cowboy-lookalikes conspire to bring the two together.  So many films are oversexed but this one is so romantic…. sigh. I love this damn movie.

The townspeople are interesting in that they’re accepting of their fellow queers to the point where “gay” and “straight” aren’t used to distinguish people… On one hand, a world where disability, race, orientation, isn’t put in words sounds like it’d be perfect but in reality it’d be scary. I hate it when people say “there is no difference between being black or white, nondisabled or disabled, we’re all the same” because yes, even though we’re all human and in some aspects are “all the same”, that sort of thinking devalues the different life experiences we’ve each experienced. We’re not all the same because different things (like culture) make us view the world differently.

On a side note, this is yet another new blog. I can’t believe I created this one once when I just paid for a lifetime xanga subscription. Hopefully I can import my old entries tomorrow. o_O

3 Comments

Filed under queer issues/culture

3 responses to “This is not good.

  1. I’m not sure how you found my blog, but am so glad you did. I can’t wait to read more of your writing. As far as WordPress goes it is the best blogging application I’ve ever used and I’ve journaled at quite a few major sites. I hope you enjoy it!

  2. OH MY GOSH!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE your new blog-love the template, this post, the header-it all! I’m almost sure there’s a way to redirect your page so if you type www. infront it will take you to your page-I think that fix came with my template but a blogging buddy said it’s easy so we’ll try and figure it out! Is this your new blogging home? Lemme know-I’m updatin the ole blog this weekend (as if changing the blogroll is considered a major overhaul but I’ve been a procrastinator lately!). MISS U!

  3. Pingback: Women of Color Blog » Links, links and more links.

Leave a Reply

